Visitors may avail of the following listing when visiting the Heritage Centre- specially designed as a history Museum.


MASS PATH DISPLAY

A large scale map of Drum showing all of the one time much-used Mass paths leading to Drum, together with a panel containing folklore recordings collected from people who used the mass paths in their lifetime. The outer margins of the map contain a selection of photographs of stone stiles and other field monuments encountered by the members during their survey.

SEAN O' NEACHTAIN

Sean O’Neachtain has left a legacy of five thousand lines of Gaelic prose and poetry. Several transcripts of Sean’s work with titles to forty four of his most popular writings with some translations are exhibited. In addition the display contains an illustrated map recording graphic scenes of old Dublin showing the disgraceful “Black Dog Prison Tower” where a number of Sean’s priest friends were imprisoned during the Penal times.

TADGH O' NEACHTAIN

A further extensive exhibition of the literary works of Tadgh O Neachtain (son of Sean), with a selection of his Gaelic writings with some translations, are on view. Of special interest are several photographs of a Latin/English/Gaelic Dictionary which had been started by Fr Francis Walsh of Dublin in 1712 but remained only half finished until completed by Tadgh O Neachtain in 1730.

NAGHTEN FAMILY

The position and standing in Drum of the old Gaelic and once powerful family of O’ Neachtain is highlighted in a spacious display that features the early pedigree of the family in addition to a selection of wills, family papers and photographs of the big house. The display includes a copy of a pardon from King William received by Captain Thomas Naghten who fought in King James’s army at the battle of Limerick in 1692. Also in the showcase are photographs of family and staff at Thomastown Park House and of the large and much lauded collection of silver (lost in a fire) won by the many great horses stabled in Thomastown during the late eighteenth and early ninetieth centuries.

A painting of Thomastown House now demolishedA painting of Thomastown House now demolished

OLD HOMESTEADS
A pictorial display of old homesteads captioned with the names of the occupants of each dwelling as recorded in the 1901 Census of Ireland. The quality of the work in limestone of many of the one-time homesteads depicts the skills of bygone generations of stonemasons. A simple story of a homestead constructed in a single day for a newly married couple is recorded in the souvenir book Celebrating 21 years of Living History, published in 2008.

FOLKLORE
This section contains a selection of folklore articles written by children attending local schools during the period 1938-1941, taken from the children’s school manuscripts and compiled for the Folklore Commission. The display contains a number of fascinating stories recorded by children from people who themselves or their parents had lived through the period of the Great Famine.

BOSTON PILOT PAPERS
Copies of emigrants’ letters, taken from the Boston Pilot Newspaper publications 1831-1850, disclose some sad revelations of men and women from Drum and people from other areas who lost contact with their family and friends in Ireland and the U.S. after emigrating. On the 4th of August 1849, one letter seeks information on two young brothers, Patrick and James Lennon of Meehambee, Parish of Drum who sailed from Liverpool in the Spring of 1847. Their parents Michael Lennon and his wife Catherine Green died on the sea voyage. This letter spells out clearly the horrific hardships during the famine period.